Testimonials

We are proud of these! Local Kingston people that train at the Lifestyle Team, showing their thanks and appreciation and also hoping their words will encourage you to Join The Team!

Google Rating
4.9

4.9
Paul Rigby
Paul Rigby
13:51 01 Mar 20
I've recently started training with the Lifestyle team and couldn't be happier.I have trained a few different martial arts over the years and it can sometimes be intimidating to come into a new school and train a new style. I have felt nothing but love and acceptance from everyone here and enjoy every session.I can feel myself slowly getting better, fitter and more flexibale everyday. This is also improving how I move in general and making me more concious of my movement.Diccon is also such a good teacher and person in general. Always happy to help out but also has the ability to get the best out of you.I'm excited to think that this is just the beginning of my BJJ journey and couldn't be doing this with a better group of people.
Viktor Cemboran
Viktor Cemboran
17:19 17 Feb 20
I have been training with Diccon and Lifestyle team for a few months and I can already feel the difference and improvement in my skills. I like the training structure when we are learning simple but effective techniques step by step from the beginning, so anyone can use his BJJ from the first few weeks of training. The team is great! I had a very nice welcome. Everyone trying to help each other. Also, there are highly skilled colored belts, who helping all the time and answering all the questions.I really enjoy every training session, and hope that it will be a long term addiction.I highly recommend if you’re looking to learn BJJ.
Jonathan Eastwood
Jonathan Eastwood
08:19 17 Feb 20
Just signed up as a full member after going for 2 weeks. Cannot speak highly enough of Diccon and the other trainers. Really went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and give me confidence. This attitude has spread throughout the entire squad, everyone is willing to share advice and support.I spent quite a few months wondering about taking up BJJ and my only regret is that I didn't do it sooner.
Skye Pickin
Skye Pickin
20:44 08 Feb 20
Such a friendly and professional group of people. They are so passionate about teaching my children BJJ and go the extra mile to make the children ( and parents) feel comfortable. They break down each session with theory, understanding of skills and more importantly fun.Diccon, Alex and Curt tailor the sessions so the children get the best out of the experienced teachers in the 1hr session. They run sessions specifically for different age groups so that the children can benefit and focus on their individual needs.
Charlie Genge
Charlie Genge
16:54 14 Jan 20
I'm a 39 year old beginner and after attending two sessions I've decided to join as a full member.The coaching is really superb from Diccon (and team). Detailed, clear instruction from someone who demonstrates an absolute commitment to your improvement and enjoyment. With all participants being so friendly and welcoming, there is a 'family' feel to the sessions. More experienced blue and purple belts are all very quick to clarify and guide during practice or sparring.Highly recommended.
Kieren Holt
Kieren Holt
00:00 09 Jan 20
My daughter has been going now for a year, I have just enrolled my son too. The teaching is spot on, the hall is very spacious, the prices are good too but perhaps the best and most unique thing about this club is that it feels like a family. Genuinely. Even when the burly adults turn up at the end of the kids class to start their own, they watch them and encourage them along. Everyone treats each other with great respect. Its quite special and the reason I want to enrol too!
Craig Bloom
Craig Bloom
15:21 06 Jan 20
I joined a few months back and cannot rate Diccon and Lifestyle highly enough. The vibe is friendly and relaxed but also focussed with a structured approach. All of the guys there (and I do mean ALL) are welcoming and open which made my first few sessions a walk in the park (I was a complete beginner and the more experienced guys really guided me through, and still do!)Whatever your reasons for getting into BJJ, don't hesitate - drop Diccon a line and stop by. You'll definitely be back for more.Looking forward to 2020 and beyond. See you on the mats. Oss!
Jamous
Jamous
01:16 06 Jan 20
I highly recommend this place to learn BJJ I started a few years ago with zero experience and I had to drop out due to unfortunate events but a few years later I rejoined I was welcomed back into a excellent environment with no problem .The atmosphere is family and team based with everyone willing to help one another to better themselves with in the sport .
Richard Merry
Richard Merry
14:51 05 Jan 20
Diccon and his team are excellent teachers of all ages.My son started early 2019 and loves every second of it.He is learning excellent techniques, learning more and more about discipline and respect and I would recommend these guys in a heartbeat.
charlie mcclean
charlie mcclean
21:18 20 Dec 19
Started going to Diccon’s classes about three months ago and have experienced nothing but excellent teaching in a superb, friendly and professional environment. Instantly very welcoming to everyone with clear and concise tutorials and instructions. GREAT TEACHING! GREAT GUYS! GREAT FUN!
nicolas vezole
nicolas vezole
17:19 21 Oct 19
SCRAPPLE PF
SCRAPPLE PF
18:29 20 Oct 19
Top bjj instructor great for fitness and everything. Leo’s the best around!
Alexis zuridis
Alexis zuridis
11:33 13 Oct 19
LEO NEGAO BJJ is a great place to learn and develop your BJJ skills in a relaxed environment whether a beginner or advanced competitor. Osss
Amirah Marzuki
Amirah Marzuki
21:29 15 Sep 19
I have been training with the Lifestyle team for nearly 8 months now as a white belt and can't really complain. The mats are clean, the teaching has been quality, the classes are regular with a good structure so you get a good mix of technique, practice and rolling in each session. There is also a good mix of weight classes in the team members so you can either stick with your weight class easily or the opposite depending on what you're trying to get out of each rolling session. I also appreciated how chill it was when I first tried out the classes - Diccon takes his time to make sure I was sorted, I tried a week's worth of classes for free, there were gis of various sizes to lend and there was no hard sell pressuring you to join. It was an easy decision to keep training with the team, and can recommend it to anyone thinking of giving it a go.
Vitamin-Shop Kingston
Vitamin-Shop Kingston
20:03 21 Aug 19
I have been training at the club for a while now. It is truly a wonderful friendly place to practice BJJ with great coaches and training partners. Highly recommended for both beginners and more experienced practitioners.Ossu
George Oboyle
George Oboyle
19:57 21 Aug 19
Really enjoy my jiu jitsu it’s a really good team everyone goes out there way to help you learn brilliant would highly recommend lifestyle BJJ Kingston
Rich Pomfret
Rich Pomfret
11:40 20 Aug 19
Just signed up after a month of training and very happy to be part of a great, friendly bunch at an excellent club. Training is always insightful, with focused & well thought-out teaching from the guys. It can be intimidating going along to a new club for the first time, but it was made very easy and Diccon is very responsive if you have any questions about training before going along. I am late to BJJ and in my early 40's, but this kind of activity/exercise is so much better than heading off to the gym. If you're in two minds about it, go along and try it out.
Charles Farris
Charles Farris
20:35 11 Aug 19
Really positive experience. Complete beginner but made to feel very welcome and learning lots every week. Can thoroughly recommend!
James O'Daly
James O'Daly
17:05 08 Aug 19
Great club. Friendly with great instructors
Attila Bernschutz
Attila Bernschutz
16:27 06 Aug 19
The best place to learn BJJ with great coaches and training partners.
Reem F
Reem F
15:28 04 Aug 19
The coaching here is phenomenal! The enthusiasm of the teachers really reflects on the students' performances - this is so crucial. My younger brother has joined for the past few months and he looks forward to every training session! Thank you!
Paulo Silva
Paulo Silva
09:00 04 Aug 19
If you are looking for a place to start or comeback to Jiu Jitsu look no further. This is the place to go. I had visited a couple of places before this one but in the end I settled at BJJ LifeStyle for their friendly, clean and welcoming environment. Diccon and Leo are very professional and extremely passionate about BJJ. It is not a surprise that there are many students from this gym winning competitions. Great BJJ Gym! Oss!
drsumitdutta
drsumitdutta
01:59 04 Aug 19
A phenomenal place to train. The quality of instruction is outstanding, with an excellent balance between fundamentals and more advanced techniques. Superb team spirit, and one in which newcomers to the club are wholeheartedly welcomed. Thoroughly recommended.
Artur Belskij
Artur Belskij
22:32 02 Aug 19
i joined the club about a month ago. Great and very welcoming club. I enjoy all the training sessions and I am really happy to come back there every week.
BenjiQVL
BenjiQVL
19:51 02 Aug 19
A great experience every time. Always learn something everything lesson. A good variety of people.Definitely would recommend this team.
Sidney Atkinson
Sidney Atkinson
18:14 02 Aug 19
Great place to train, awesome coaches and training partners.
Cameel's World
Cameel's World
16:55 22 Jul 19
VERY HAPPY TO BE PART OF THIS BJJ TEAM...OSSS!!!🤙
David Taylor BJJ
David Taylor BJJ
21:53 10 Jul 19
Mr Smith
Mr Smith
13:16 08 Jul 19
Great club. Very welcoming and a good mix of people. Caters for all levels and has a good focus on actually teaching rather than just a spar free for all.
Daniel Baksa
Daniel Baksa
11:36 01 Jul 19
I joined the team about 1.5 year ago and I just had my first competition and win a gold and a silver medal. Diccon and Leo are amazing teachers with many techniques and the classes are super fun. The team is extremely supportive and we learn a lot from each other. Couldn't wish for a better place to train with!
Gaby Maldonado
Gaby Maldonado
17:17 27 May 19
Kingston BJJ is a great place to train wether you're beginning or continuing jiujitsu; everyone is welcoming and friendly and Diccon takes a personal interest in everyone's journey. Started training almost a a year ago after having attended other training centres and can safely say that both Diccon and Leo are some of the best and most dedicated coaches around- its a pleasure to be part of the team.
Juri Fomenok
Juri Fomenok
08:51 15 May 19
Great place to start and develope Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. Respectful and individual approach to every student.
Zak Boniface
Zak Boniface
21:55 14 May 19
Been coming here for a couple months as a complete beginner to BJJ, and couldn’t be more happy. The team and atmosphere is great and welcoming, I would highly recommend to anyone considering coming along!
Greg O'Grady
Greg O'Grady
18:00 11 Feb 19
Having tried out other BJJ schools previously, I knew I'd found the right place to train when I joined the Lifestyle Team. The atmosphere is welcoming, the training sessions are thorough and the instructors really know their stuff.Everyone helps each other along and looks out for one another - a real sense of team here.
kaiz
kaiz
14:27 08 Feb 19
I’ve been coming here for three weeks now and have learnt so much, both of the Instructors have been very knowledgable and welcoming. Highly recommend if you’re looking to learn BJJ.
Joe Friedland
Joe Friedland
13:21 08 Feb 19
Fantastic place to train - the entire team is welcoming and supportive, and the teachers are highly knowledgeable and hands on.
Lawrence Lowe
Lawrence Lowe
12:15 08 Feb 19
I started learning BJJ 3 months ago at this gym, and I cannot recommend it any more, extremely welcoming class and teachers too new students and is alot of fun to learn and enhance new techniques.
Paolina Sarbeva
Paolina Sarbeva
02:49 17 Jan 19
Hi. Do you run arm wrestling classes?
Gavin Johnson
Gavin Johnson
13:40 15 Dec 18
BJJ Lifestyle Team is lead by two very humble black belt coaches with a wealth of knowledge. It is exceptional in welcoming newcomers to the sport and integrating them into the team. The ultimate selling point for me at Lifestyle is the people. Everyone is out to learn and improve their skills in both the sport and self defence. The coaching you receive from your more experienced peers and their willingness to help you improve your Jujitsu is what makes me return week after week. People from all ages and levels of experience are welcome. Longevity and overall health and fitness are promoted through the use of Jujitsu. I am very impressed at the atmosphere that has been created and the culture of community that is instilled into every member of the team.If you have every had even a small interest in any type of martial arts, come down and try it out. It is fun and I highly BJJ Lifestyle as the Team to join.
Alex Crompton
Alex Crompton
21:47 14 Dec 18
Super friendly team. As a visitor they made me really welcome. The teaching was really structured, thoughtful, and detailed, and the rolls were high quality. Thanks for having me!
Dipak Mahto
Dipak Mahto
23:55 10 Dec 18
Have been training here to advance my BJJ for MMA. Fantastic school, great teachers with a wealth of knowledge. Fellow students are friendly and very helpful in showing how to advance techniques. Highly recommend!
Angus S
Angus S
23:44 08 Dec 18
Great club, was pretty new to BJJ when I joined but everyone was very welcoming, and there's always a friendly atmosphere. There's a good mix of belt levels, people are always ready to give pointers when drilling or rolling, and the teaching is informative and easy to understand.
Milosz Tyszka
Milosz Tyszka
19:45 08 Dec 18
I , together with two of my boys have joined around 6 months ago. Since the very first day I have been impressed with very knowledgeable mixture of guys with professor Diccon and professor Leo at the tip of the spear on one hand and absolutely the kindest and most welcoming guys you will ever get the pleasure to meet. My boys(7 and 11) absolutely love learning bjj and simply cannot wait to get back on the mats with the rest of the kids. I have learned much more than just techniques of bjj, professor Diccon and Leo together with their knowledge, pass on the legacy and way of life that comes with vintage Brazilian jiu jitsu of which I and my family hope to be a part of.I have been so impressed with the entire team, I have invited my partner to come and join us on the mats. Once she went through the amazing experience of learning with the Lifestyle Team, she did not have to be persuaded to come back again. She absolutely loved it and has been joining me on the mats ever since. I could not recommend this absolutely amazing group of bjj artists highly enough! I only wish I and my family could say we have been part of the team for years now rather than months, and I am very confident we will be learning bjj together for years to come!
Karolina Betlejewska
Karolina Betlejewska
19:18 08 Dec 18
My two sons, my partner and I are all members of BJJ Lifestyle Team. We love every minute on the matts ♡ Very good communication, very open and friendly group of lovely people, respectful and super kind !We love you all guys ♡!!
Tom Vear
Tom Vear
10:41 01 Dec 18
dominik czékmán
dominik czékmán
08:16 30 Nov 18
Coming from a striking background, this place made me fall in love with grappling. Great bunch of people who are all happy to help you develop your knowledge and understanding of jiu jitsu. Nice family environment where all are welcome and looked after. Would highly recommend for anyone looking to compete or for fitness purposes.
Ivan
Ivan
11:45 14 Nov 18
Brilliant place to learn and make friends. Two black belt teachers make you feel welcome, provide high level coaching and always answer any questions you might have. There's no macho rubbish like some other gyms - everyone looks out for each other, and there's something to learn from every student . The sessions are adjusted when newcomers join so you won't feel drowned in information, and everyone remembers being the new guy so your training partner will help you go at a pace you feel comfortable.The club is a fantastic place to learn a mix of self-defence and sports techniques in a community of people who want to help each other get better.
Amir Ezat
Amir Ezat
23:59 13 Nov 18
if youre unsure about where to train: I did a lot of research on all of the clubs in london that does BJJ, i checked the belt lineage too. This is without a doubt the right one, amazing instructor and everyone is friendly there. Normally its a scary thing to join a club, but they all did a really good job to make me feel comfortable. I decided to join the team because honestly the jiujitsu is on another level and you will always leave a training session knowing that you’ve improved, I only wish that i had started earlier.
Giorgio
Giorgio
23:30 13 Nov 18
Really great group of guys, only been doing it for a couple of months and really enjoy it. Its great for fitness and is really easy to get into even if your a beginner. The group is really relaxed and ready to help.
Jack Loy
Jack Loy
14:53 30 Mar 18
A super-friendly and welcoming Brazilian Jiu Jitsu club run by an instructor with a genuine passion for teaching and helping his students, of all levels, progress. BJJ Lifestyle is supported and guided by one of the truly great BJJ practitioners in London, Leo Nagao. Leo is there at most of the classes.
Joe Owen
Joe Owen
12:00 29 Mar 18
First and foremost there's a really great atmosphere at this club and I've learnt so much in the short time I've been going. I feel this is mainly due to the teaching style where everything is broken down to just the right level, you can't help but take it on board, also from everyone else being so helpful and accommodating to beginners. Thanks Diccon!
Jay Raja
Jay Raja
22:51 27 Mar 18
What a place to learn. Leo and Diccon! Can't go wrong
Millscoevlogs
Millscoevlogs
21:36 17 Feb 18
I wish I had joined the team sooner, I look forward to each training session. You will leave better than when you arrived. Give it a go, you have nothing to lose and everything to gain.
Henrik Svensson
Henrik Svensson
09:54 07 Feb 18
Admittedly I am quite new to this team, and to BJJ in general, but I really believe this is a great team. The main teacher, Diccon, is very committed to teaching, and Diccon as well as the whole team really makes an effort to make beginners feel welcome. Highly recommended.
Rachel Sigamoney
Rachel Sigamoney
21:59 23 Jan 18
Such a friendly environment to train an actually place that cares more about the sport and the people who attend than the actual money. I was welcomed in by Diccon and his team instantly and there is always somebody to help me improve. I haven’t found a place where training is this much fun and everybody is out to help each other. I was hooked from my first session. Weighing just under 8st the team and sport have shown me size doesn’t always matter.
George Elliott
George Elliott
21:47 21 Jan 18
I have massively enjoyed training with the team in Kingston over the past few months. Diccon promotes an open and constructive learning environment, with some truly vital skills on offer.
brendan sebuliba
brendan sebuliba
15:48 23 Dec 17
Great team with a great atmosphere. I was made to feel very welcome!
Peter Bell
Peter Bell
14:38 21 Oct 17
I had some experience before I came to train here, but I have to say that after training for just a couple of weeks my ability and knowledge of this beautiful art were increased far more than anywhere I'd trained before. There are some really great, solid people here that are a delight to learn from. The time and care spent by Diccon on structuring the lessons and including repetition makes it much easier to internalise the powerful techniques shown to us and really hone them rather than just moving on to the next flashy move and immediately forgetting the previous one. I look forward to every opportunity I get to train with these guys and would really recommend anyone reading this to try it out.
Darren Sawyer
Darren Sawyer
19:56 07 Oct 17
Christian Patton
Christian Patton
14:14 25 Sep 17
I spent several years learning Brazilian Jiu Jitsu from Diccon and loved every minute of it.I was a complete beginner when I started my training and he took me through all the basics splitting our time between technical drilling and sparring sessions. Diccon is extremely knowledgeable and has a lot of passion & energy for teaching BJJ - he made it a lot of fun for me and the other students and I always looked forward to the next class lesson & private tutorial. Whatever your level is, if you are looking to train to compete in competitions, for self-defence, for health & fitness, or just to try something new and meet some great people, I would thoroughly recommend checking out Diccon’s BJJ Lifestyle Team.
Tina Martin
Tina Martin
12:30 24 Sep 17
Amazing club would highly recommend. Friendly atmosphere, great techniques, great fun!
Antonio Cardenes
Antonio Cardenes
16:54 21 Sep 17
Great place to train BJJ. Amazing atmosphere and great teacher. Fully recommend the place.
Greg Schmidt
Greg Schmidt
20:27 17 Sep 17
Had never tried BJJ till I joined the Lifestyle Team in Kingston 6 months ago. Very inviting and friendly. Was hooked after my first session and have been a regular ever since. Fantastic coaches, great knowledge and very encouraging. Gi and No-Gi classes on offer and the team spirit, brotherhood and family of the Team are what keeps me coming back. Would highly recommend to anyone!!! Oss!!!
Curt Tralls
Curt Tralls
20:24 17 Sep 17
From the first time I stepped into the club I was welcomed by diccon and all the other members of the lifestyle team. Its been almost 3 months and I have made many new friends and feel that this will be a long term addition to my life. I would fully recommend this club to anyone who wants to make new friends, learn a martial art or just want to get in shape.
DMG 22
DMG 22
19:15 16 Aug 17
I started training with the lifestyle team 9 months ago as a complete beginner, Diccon & the whole team made me feel so welcome. The training is fun, productive & great exercise. I attend at least 2 sessions a week & only wish I had the spare time to attend more. I would recommend joining the team to anyone
Dennis Yang
Dennis Yang
13:25 21 May 17
Best BJJ gym, nice and friendly atmosphere would recommend to anyone.
marcos Almeida Caetano
marcos Almeida Caetano
10:45 24 Feb 17
Nicholas Patient
Nicholas Patient
03:12 04 Nov 16
BJJ Lifestyle team is a great place to learn how to grapple. Coach Diccon and all of his blue belts are great teachers, and make sure students understand details. They want you yo get better, rather than wanting to snap your limbs and choke you to death. Lifestyle is also one of the few schools to encourage a solid developement of standup grappling for BJJ, with awesome Judo sessions from Danny Williams. I've heard only great things about the wrestling classes too. I don't live in London anymore, yet I still consider Lifestyle Team to be my home for BJJ. I think that says it all about this place. OSS!
Daniel Kim
Daniel Kim
07:50 28 Oct 16
Amazing place.Amazing teacher.Amazing people.Amazing environment.A friendly environment with friendly, welcoming people. Diccon, he is an awesome, attentive teacher who goes through every technique with absolute detail and makes sure everyone understands why it is utilised. If you want to start training bjj, or already are, this place is the place to start for anyone to become more comfortable with the art. 100/10 would recommend you visit.
ian clark
ian clark
16:14 24 Oct 16
I've been training at Life style team now for two years and quite frankly its the highlight of my week. I think I joined around two months after the team began and having trained in other martial arts I did find the transition to ground fighting and grappling hard however, two years and I just cant get enough of it. To tell you the truth I just cant wait until Mondays, Thursdays and Friday nights its my only weekly exercise,its my gym and it where I'm happiest.All the coaches are great guys ! This is a gym with no ego no one feels they have anything to prove to you. Nobody will bully you or take advantage of you ,no one is going to make you do 100 push because your the new boy/girl they just want to know your name, what you do with your life ect. So its a really welcoming feeling. The coaches are amazing to be honest I've never had such good coaches in my life, once you get to know them they care about you as a person not just as another guy on the mat and they take an interest in you. They care about your development you can say to them " I went for a single leg and it didn't work " and then they will either in class or after class give you as much help and expertise as possible to help you improve. Diccon who is are head coach has a saying and it goes like this " If you're keen, then I'm very keen" when I heard that in maybe my first or second class it actually spurred me on to train more and look at more techniques its so great having a coaches who take an interest in you. We go to competitions together we cheer for each other and were happy when we achieve are goals it is hard work it is tiring and it is tough but at the end of the day its worth it all. I wouldn't have lost the weight I've lost, changed my attitude towards life or be as driven as I am if I hadn't joined the lifestyle team that's just a few of the benefits I've gained from training here. We have a mixture of people who train with us and its great to meet different people ok that's enough of me going on about how great the team is now its up to you, why don't you pop down and give it ago we're in Kingston just around the back of John Lewis in the sea Cadet centre Monday night, Thursday night Friday night and Saturday morning you might find its better than the gym..... see you there.
Josh Cox
Josh Cox
21:53 22 Oct 16
Any negative expectations that may arise when joining a martial-arts gym will instantly be squashed after attending your first free session at the Lifestyle Team. As someone who was completely new to BJJ and martial arts more generally, I could not have asked for a better atmosphere. The sessions are relaxed and enjoyable, whilst remaining productive and challenging. My only regret is not joining sooner.
Rory Lightfoot
Rory Lightfoot
18:28 22 Oct 16
I've been training at BJJ Lifestyle for several months now and my only regret is that I didn't start earlier. The club has a great sense of community and friendship amongst members while still remaining incredibly welcoming to anyone who is interested in giving it a go. It offers the ideal blend of both professionalism on the one hand, and remaining relaxed, enjoyable, and fun on the other.Given the fact that the first class is free there really is nothing to lose in coming down and trying out one session! The one thing you will not do is regret it!
Dominyck Asmutis
Dominyck Asmutis
18:55 15 Oct 16
I have been going to BJJ LIFESTYLE Club for 6 months now. This club has a great sense of community and has excellent coaches. Nobody's pretending or showing off - everybody is there to train and have fun. The classes are challenging and addictive - a great recipe for improving your life by getting fit and learning BJJ, JUDO, WRESTLING. Great place I continuously recommended BJJ LIFESTYLE Club to everyone.
Gabe Friedland
Gabe Friedland
15:47 15 Oct 16
Great learning environment and team experience. Made it very easy to begin training! Diccon is great at explaining the progressions in movement and adjusting students when needed.
Tarik Asylum
Tarik Asylum
11:51 26 May 16
Great place to learn with humble and helpful students .I recommend this place to anyone from begginers to the more experienced .
Rob Macdonald
Rob Macdonald
09:33 12 May 16
Along with my 15 year old son I've been training with Diccon for a couple of months now. I'm really enjoying the experience, unlike many 'McDojos ' out there where you rarely get to talk to the instructor let alone spar with him, Diccon offers a much more hands on approach. He also spends much more time on techniques rather than just speeding through a plethora of moves, with an emphasis on the practical, the martial as well as the art.Everyone at the club is friendly and welcoming, we're all here to learn and enjoy.If you're already a practising martial artist or looking to start something new I can definitely recommend Lifestyle, give Diccon a call and get down here.Rob
Cameron Ian Wells
Cameron Ian Wells
22:08 10 May 16
A very good place to learn a great Martial art for people of all levels and age groups. The atmosphere is very good with an emphasis on team spirit and the instructors are very approachable and skilled. I have certainly learnt a lot. Well worth a visit.
Carlo Curatola
Carlo Curatola
13:53 07 May 16
Fabulous atmosphere and friendly people. Simply Great !!!
matosalem souza
matosalem souza
14:29 16 Apr 16
Chris Maxwell
Chris Maxwell
16:07 13 Mar 16
If your looking to get into/try bjj, no matter what age or size, this is the place to go! One of the most welcoming atmospheres I've ever been lucky enough to be involved in, with top class training and motivation provided by diccon Lynes who has made the club a positive and friendly place to be. Thanks a million to dic and the kingston bjj lifestyle team!
Emre
Emre
23:45 07 Mar 16
What would you like to have from a place that teaches martial arts?Let me tell you what i would like;I would like a place that is welcoming, friendly ,good people in it.I would like a place with a decent space not to small,I would like a good teacher which is THE most important one for me.I would like a place quite central ,easy to commit.I would like to go to a place that i can go after work.I would like to pay not more than gym membership.I would like to have fun while I'm learning.I can carry on but ill stop there 🙂 The last one i like to say that i like go to a place that the teacher really shows you the way to live the martial art ,feel it and it becomes your lifestyle.I found all I'm looking for at BJJ Lifestyle Kingston,Hope you can find it too 😉
Michael Taylor
Michael Taylor
15:06 06 Mar 16
I will start off with saying that going to this club is the first time I have ever participated in anything like this. I loved it straight away, everyone is really friendly, encouraging and will help you with anything they can when its comes to BJJ. Diccon, Jonathan and Lyuba have so much knowledge between them and separately, they have created a very methodical system to teach with a atmosphere of family. I would recommend to anyone looking to make fitness fun and challenging whilst learning to defend yourself.
Joey Lee
Joey Lee
01:02 13 Jan 16
A relaxed and welcoming training environment with a good emphasis on sharpening BJJ techniques. Great for a wide range of persons: beginners, those already familiar with BJJ and the technically proficient.
Mark Coward
Mark Coward
16:11 11 Jan 16
I was looking for a new club and found this in the form of lifestyle kingston. Class are well structured and techniques are explained in every detail by a brilliant instructor. Everyone is friendly and welcoming and willing to help you learn. The team itself is like a second family and you want to make sure you are at every session.
Daniel Obiago
Daniel Obiago
11:39 08 Jan 16
Best thing to hit Kingston. Good fun and highly informative. 3 sessions in I can say that the coaching and teammates are excellent and looking forward to the future.
Andrene Wood
Andrene Wood
07:40 07 Jan 16
New to Jui Jitsu, I decided to join the Kingston Lifestyle Team. Everyone was really welcoming and the instructors are amazing. Now I can't wait to turn up and train every week. Really friendly and helpful team...feels like a second family already.
viraj rajdev
viraj rajdev
23:29 06 Jan 16
Fantastic teacher, amazing group to train with and a beautiful art to practice. I highly recommend coming along and trying it out for yourself
ujahooda
ujahooda
15:50 15 Oct 15
This was exactly what was looking for in terms of motivation, camaraderie, intensity, skills, feedback and location.Everyone is keen to help each other and during sparring there is no one angry that you tapped them and no one looking to bully smaller or less experienced belts. The team and training is fantastic, especially for beginners!
James Boyd
James Boyd
17:34 13 Oct 15
I have from a young age been a huge fan of martial arts and i have spent over 20 years studying Taekwondo and Karate, before i had to give up my hobby due to work and moving. I decided that i wanted to get back into the hobby but this time do something different (No striking) so after looking around i decided to study Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. I joined Lifestyle Team a few months ago after doing some research on clubs in my area and i can say it’s one of the best decisions that i have made.I have found, in the short time that i have been training there, that there is a real sense of teamwork with a family like ethos in a warm and welcoming environment.One of my biggest bug bears with any martial arts clubs, is a club that has students that have either an ego or worse, something to prove. i have been to clubs in the past where as a beginner all that happens is you have other people just dominate you and you spend lesson after lesson getting spanked and not really learning anything all because the students want to show off.I can happily say this is not one of those clubs. There are no egos or people trying to prove anything here. Everyone is passionate, polite and friendly.The instructor, Diccon, is a very patient, knowledgeable and sociable person. In a training session you can openingly ask him questions while he is showing us a technique and he is happy to explain the reasons why a technique is done a certain way.This openness is also noticeable with the other students in the class. i have found that when i am training i will always get advice and guidance on my technique or position, and if i do something wrong they will tell me what i did wrong and why, and then help me to correct my mistake. it's like i am having a one to one training session, which is fantastic.
Sid Austen
Sid Austen
06:02 13 Oct 15
When I first joined the club, everyone was so friendly and I didn't feel uncomfortable at all. The classes are well structured and you learn so much during them. Lifestyle Team is a great club to join and they are always looking for new members to help grow the team!
Jonathan Blatchford
Jonathan Blatchford
13:58 04 Oct 15
I joined the Lifestyle Team in Kingston only 6 weeks ago having never done any sort of martial arts in the past. The Lifestyle Team is an amazing club to learn with great people. Really recommend it.
Gary Hewson
Gary Hewson
11:00 20 Apr 15
I Joined the Lifestyle Team at the start of this year after moving to the area. After training for along time before moving at a different club I was really glad I had found somewhere that was this welcoming and friendly. As I joined, a kind of 'back to the basics' course was just starting which was nice timing for me as mastering the less flashy, more basic pure jiu jitsu positions has been something I'd wanted to implement into my game for a while.Great tuition, Guaranteed to pick up some nice details (for me some I'd never seen before!) and a really nice friendly atmosphere to train in. All in all a great club, come down and train !!
Gil Pamplona
Gil Pamplona
15:27 19 Apr 15
I have been doing BJJ for 3 and a half years and the only thing that really matters for me is to be good at the basic techniques. When I moved to Kingston from Brazil in the last year, I was quite worried to find a place where would fit the style and the concept that I have always been looking for - since I was from one of the biggest clubs in Brazil, Gracie Humaitá - and the Lifestyle Team really met my expectations. I sent a message to the Head Coach, Diccon Lynes, and he was really kind and invited me to turn up in the academy, and everybody was very welcome with me and pacient with my speaking skills in English. Furthermore, the environment could not be better, which makes the whole difference to improve your techniques as much as possible and enjoy every single training session after a work/study day. Therefore, if you are thinking about learning some good self defense and are looking for some good place to start your journey in BJJ or even to keep incresing your skills, I am pretty sure that you should check the BJJ Lifestyle Team by yourself and you will definitely not regret my advice! OSSSS
Faisal Tabari
Faisal Tabari
16:06 16 Apr 15
My experience with the Lifestyle team is both a positive and unique one! Before moving to kingston, I had bee doing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) back home in Jordan for almost two years at the Source MMA, under Fabricio International Team (FIT). An initial search online brought up BJJ Lifestyle team! What attracted me most was the the clarity and structure of their website. The team’s vision was clear and they seemed to have a pretty organized ‘syllabus’ when it came to training. After arriving in the UK, I had called one of the instructors, Diccon Lynes, who sounded very passionate and welcoming. Speaking to him over the phone, I felt that his approach to training sounded as coherent and organized as the website had advertised. I even discussed with him a minor injury I had and sought his advice on how this may impact my training. Coach Diccon was kind enough to share his own experience and gave me a couple of tips on what I should do prior to joining the team!
As of this writing, I have been training with BJJ Lifestyle team for about five months now, and I can undoubtedly say that the team has provided a welcoming, safe and friendly environment, with excellent training from two very professional instructors. The warm up, drilling and sparring are well-structured, making it a safe, injury-free experience. Training consists of two classes of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and a ‘world-class’ wrestling lesson on the weekend to complement your grappling game taught by a bulgarian national champion – Lyubo Kumbarov. Regardless of athletic or combat experience, I felt everyone has a place on the team, the instruction is superb and tailored to all levels. It was ideal for me as I felt there was an emphasis on the basics, old-school Jiu Jitsu, which really filled the gaps in my BJJ game. If you’re considering taking-up martial arts, then BJJ is the martial art of choice. I have trained in Tae Kwon Do, Wushu Kung Fu and Sanshou, and can confidently say that BJJ is by far a superior combat system for everyone and anyone willing to put in the time and BJJ lifestyle team in Kingston upon thames is the perfect place to start your BJJ Journey.

Oss!
Michael Cheung
Michael Cheung
11:00 15 Apr 15
Looking for something new? Want to learn a new skill and make new friends? Come and train with the BJJ Lifestyle Team. You will get first hand experience of what Brazilian Jujitsu is from a friendly experienced, knowledgeable and professional instructor. Brazilian Jujitsu does not use striking or kicking, but utilizes very cleverly thought out techniques using locks, holds and maneuvers, designed for a smaller person to beat a larger person. You don't need prior experience. Just turn up and train in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend!
Richard Smith
Richard Smith
10:41 09 Apr 15
A fantastic place to learn Brazilian Jiu Jitsu! Top quality instructors in both BJJ and wrestling takedowns and a really friendly group of guys to train with. Being in my late 30s I was a bit nervous about joining as a complete beginner, but everyone welcomed me and spent time giving me advice. A lot of time is spent on technique and drilling the fundamentals so you will rapidly improve at the things that matter most in developing a very effective style. Highly recommended!
Igloomike1
Igloomike1
19:38 07 Apr 15
Paul Beck
Paul Beck
13:08 03 Jan 15
7 months with Lifestyle Team in Kingston. BJJ Lifestyle is a good fit for me. Friendly people, excellent teaching.
Gedz C
Gedz C
17:34 11 May 14
Great place to train, very welcoming and friendly with a huge emphasis on team ethos and progression.Diccon provides a clear structured technical program and teaching style that is tailored to the individual.Everybody is extremely supportive and always prepared to break down a technique, to move you forward in your sparring and self-development.Fantastic environment to get fit, make friends and learn BJJ
Edward Wooderson
Edward Wooderson
17:42 09 May 14
i was a little apprehensive before coming to my first class, but was made to feel very welcome as soon as i walked through the door. i don't consider myself very flexible and suffer from a bad back and starting bjj has worked wonders. i can't recommend bjj lifestyle team enough.
Jon Cave
Jon Cave
16:16 02 May 14
Relaxed and friendly club but still very focussed on developing a strong BJJ game. Diccon Lynes (Head coach) has an enjoyable and open teaching style and is developing an efficient and progressive style of BJJ with all his students. He has also brought in a top, top freestyle wrestling coach, Lyubo Kumbarov, to integrate the explosive takedowns and body control that wrestling offers… as far as I am aware there is no other club putting such an emphasis on the takedown aspects of BJJ and it is awesome! The club has great ambitions to develop all students to the best of their abilities with an effective and well-rounded grappling game. Could not recommend highly enough if you are new to the sport or experienced and looking to compete.
James Lavender
James Lavender
12:09 24 Feb 14
Good Instructors,Good training, Good BJJ,Good Wrestling,Good Judo,Good friendly team mates,Good sized venue (lots of mat space), Come check it outGood Bye
Fahim Khan
Fahim Khan
20:35 15 Feb 14
I have thoroughly enjoyed training here over the past few months and would highly recommend anyone seeking to learn Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu to join and learn in a place with committed individuals and a energetic environment.
Nicholas Akosa
Nicholas Akosa
02:47 21 Jan 14
Lifestyle Team is a great place to train. Being brand new to BJJ the instructors are very welcoming, highly knowledgeable and friendly. The family atmosphere alone is worth the money, sparring partners are also welcoming and wont hesistate to help if you are not sure about a technique. If you are looking for a place to get fit, train self defence or prepare for competition, BJJ lifestyle team is definitely the place to train! Highly highly recommended.
will mo
will mo
22:43 19 Jan 14
great place to train bjj. lots of respect, and magnificient training partners. Very experience Professor as well.It´s like a big family.
R Mall
R Mall
23:54 18 Jan 14
BJJ Lifestyle Team is the perfect place to start or continue your Brazilian Jiu Jitsu journey. Situated in the heart of Kingston, next to the Thames, it is no more than a ten minute walk from the train or bus station. The mats space is large; and the mats themselves are brand new. The building itself is modern and offers all the things you would expect such as changing rooms - and even a kitchen, should you need to mix your protein shake, or have a round of toast. The classes are long by most standards (2 hours) and so you know that you will get your moneys worth; and having mentioned money, the monthly rate is very reasonable compared to contemporaries; and doesn't tie you down with a contract.Brazilian Jiu Jitsu is a martial art/sport that has practical applications. You'll get fitter, stronger, tougher, more confident, and also learn an art that can be used against a resisting opponent. It has self-defence and sport applications - with competitions all year round. Its focus on technique allows for both men and women to greatly benefit. The coach and team are very friendly. Diccon is friendly, welcoming and attuned to the needs of his students. The classes involve a warm-up, technique drilling and sparring. Technique teaching is structured and progressive, and punctuated by stories of past experiences. There are no run-the-gauntlet style initiations for prospective newbies. If you want to learn Brazilian Jiu Jitsu then it's an excellent place to start the journey. Training is enjoyable, and nobody is trying to kill the other person. I'm sure if you visited you would learn a lot.
Darren Jumnoodoo
Darren Jumnoodoo
23:15 18 Jan 14
I have trained with the BJJ Lifestyle team and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Instructor and every member was welcoming from the start and the lesson was well structured and paced. There was no egos in the club and i felt the technical standard was high. Having studied other martial arts i was looking for something different and BJJ is it. It is good for self-defence and is what i would call an honest art where only practise will help, the BJJ Lifestyle team will help and encourage you with your journey into BJJ.
Sachinda Jayatilleke
Sachinda Jayatilleke
11:20 18 Jan 14
Already after few weeks of training I feel like being in a big family. Loving the attitude and great atmosphere to learn BJJ. Great work Diccon ... keep it up! 🙂
Luke Hennessy
Luke Hennessy
13:28 13 Jan 14
As a complete newcomer to BJJ/Freestyle Wrestling, I have thoroughly enjoyed the past few months with the BJJ Lifestyle Team. Everyone at the club is very welcoming. the atmosphere is friendly, and I liked that if I was going wrong with a technique, nobody will hesitate to help correct you. I believe that after just a couple of months, my fitness has improved dramatically, (lost almost a stone and this is pretty much the only exercise i do), my knowledge of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu has increased and I've made a bunch of friends whilst doing it. OSSSSSSSSSSS
Next Reviews